Domestic Violence Attorney
Generally, an incident is classified as domestic violence when a family or household member commits a criminal act on another family or household member. Common domestic violence offenses include assault, stalking, harassment, and a protection order violation.
A Domestic Violence Charge
A domestic violence charge can be a misdemeanor or felony crime, depending on the specific issues and circumstances of the case, and your past criminal history.
- A misdemeanor domestic violence charge can be either a simple misdemeanor or a gross misdemeanor. The main difference between the two is the maximum amount of jail time the court can impose. A misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail, while a gross misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 12 months in jail.
- A felony domestic violence charge can be a Class A, Class B, or Class C felony.
A Domestic Violence Conviction
A domestic violence conviction is serious, and the consequences range from required participation in an intensive treatment program to jail or prison sentences. The punishment for a domestic violence conviction depends on the specific issues and circumstances of the case, and your past criminal history.
Dixon & Cannon, Ltd. attorneys provide experienced, compassionate, and aggressive representation in all domestic violence matters.
Call us for a FREE 30-minute initial consultation at 206-957-2247. We can help!
Dixon & Cannon, Ltd. is licensed to practice law in the States of Arizona and Washington. This Web site is created for your general information only and does not represent legal advice. An attorney-client relationship between you and our law firm is not created by you reading this information or calling us. If we decide to work together, we sign a contract to establish our attorney-client relationship.